This Science News Wire page contains a press release issued by an organization and is provided to you "as is" with little or no review from Science X staff.

Four Argonne National Laboratory scientists named Distinguished Fellows

June 19th, 2013

The U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE) Argonne National Laboratory has named scientists Hussein Khalil, Stephen Klippenstein, Nenad Markovic and James Proudfoot as Distinguished Fellows, the laboratory's highest scientific and engineering rank.

The Argonne Distinguished Fellow title is comparable in stature to an endowed chair at a top-ranked university and recognizes exceptional contributions in a person's field. The rank is given for sustained outstanding scientific and engineering research and can also be associated with outstanding technical leadership of major, complex, high-priority projects.

Hussein Khalil

Hussein Khalil is director of Argonne's Nuclear Engineering Division and is responsible for the Lab's research on nuclear reactor technology and nuclear non-proliferation. He joined Argonne in 1983 and became a Senior Scientist in 2001. He has a Ph.D. from MIT and an MBA from the University of Chicago.

Dr. Khalil's research has focused on the advancement of reactor physics and dynamics methods and the optimization of fast reactor core design. He coordinates U.S. Department of Energy-sponsored research nation-wide on advanced modeling and simulation of nuclear energy systems.

Dr. Khalil is a Fellow of the American Nuclear Society and one of two US members of the Experts Group of the Generation IV International Forum.

Stephen Klippenstein

Stephen Klippenstein received a B.Sc. in Chemistry and Mathematics from the University of British Columbia (Canada) in 1983 and a Ph.D. in Chemistry from Caltech in 1988, working under the direction of R. A. Marcus. After one year of postdoctoral research with Casey Hynes at the University of Colorado, Boulder, he joined the faculty in the Department of Chemistry at Case Western Reserve University, in 1989. In 2000, he took a position at the Combustion Research Facility of Sandia National Laboratories in Livermore, CA. Then, in 2005, he moved to Argonne National Laboratory, joining the Gas Phase Chemical Dynamics Group. He is also currently a senior fellow in the Computation Institute.

His research interests are in theoretical gas phase chemical kinetics. His efforts are centered around key problems in combustion chemistry, interstellar chemistry and atmospheric chemistry. He has made key methodological developments for treating the kinetics of barrierless reactions and to the procedures for deriving phenomenological rate coefficients. His research has previously been recognized with American Physical Society Fellowship and the O. W. Adams Award for Outstanding Achievement in Combustion Science at Sandia National Laboratories. He is currently on the editorial advisory board of the Journal of Physical Chemistry, Combustion and Flame, Progress in Energy and Combustion, and Proceedings of the Combustion Institute.

Nenad Markovic

Nenad Markovic is the Group Leader of Argonne's Energy Conversion and Storage Group and a Senior Chemist in Argonne's Material Sciences Division. He received his BSc, MsD and PhD at the University of Belgrade. In the past, he has worked both at the University of Belgrade and at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, Ohio. He joined Argonne's staff in 2005.

Markovic's major research interest is understanding surface processes at the electrified metal-solution interfaces. By using surface sensitive probes in combination with vibrational spectroscopy (FTIR, ATR) and classical electrochemical methods, he established relations between the microscopic surface structures of metallic single crystal surfaces and the rates of electrochemical reactions. This knowledge has been used to improve energy conversion and storage. Markovic is the author of more then 190 papers in the field of catalysis and surface electrochemistry.

James Proudfoot

James Proudfoot received his Ph.D. from Oxford University, studying proton structure in deep-inelastic muon-proton scattering. As a physicist at the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, he studied electroweak interactions and hadron production in electron-positron scattering until 1982 when he joined Argonne and became a member of the CDF collaboration studying proton-antiproton interactions at the Fermilab Tevatron Collider.

Among his many roles within the CDF Collaboration, he convened the electroweak physics group for two years and spent two years as Associate Department Head in the CDF Operations Department. With the plan to construct the Superconducting Super Collider (SSC), he led the team to design the barrel electromagnetic calorimeter for the SDC.

In 1992, following the cancellation of the SSC, James joined the ATLAS experiment at CERN for which he has been responsible for elements of the design, construction and operation for the central hadronic calorimeter. Currently he is leader of the ATLAS group in the Division, conducting experiments searching a deeper understanding of matter and the forces that control our universe at the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) at CERN, Switzerland. His physics research at the LHC focuses on physics signatures making use of calorimeters to measure electrons and jets and to infer the presence of neutrinos in the final state.

Argonne National Laboratory seeks solutions to pressing national problems in science and technology. The nation's first national laboratory, Argonne conducts leading-edge basic and applied scientific research in virtually every scientific discipline. Argonne researchers work closely with researchers from hundreds of companies, universities, and federal, state and municipal agencies to help them solve their specific problems, advance America's scientific leadership and prepare the nation for a better future. With employees from more than 60 nations, Argonne is managed by UChicago Argonne, LLC for the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Science.

Provided by Argonne National Laboratory

Citation: Four Argonne National Laboratory scientists named Distinguished Fellows (2013, June 19) retrieved 14 April 2024 from
This document is subject to copyright. Apart from any fair dealing for the purpose of private study or research, no part may be reproduced without the written permission. The content is provided for information purposes only.